New 2013 Board Members Ready to Serve!

Physicians Insurance is lucky to have a pool of talented and involved Board members. At the spring 2013 annual meeting, the members elected two new Directors whose profiles are provided below. They have been elected to three-year terms of office, and we look forward to their ongoing support and guidance.

Aparna Ananth, MD

Seth GS Medical College and KEM Hospital, Bombay, India, MBBS (2001); Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, Michigan, Residency in Anesthesia (2002–2006); University of Washington, Fellowship in Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology (2006–2007)
Board Certified: Anesthesiology and Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography
Present Position: Practicing Anesthesiologist, Pacific Anesthesia, St. Joseph Medical Center (2012–present)
Practice Location: Tacoma, WA
Professional Appointments: Member, American Society of Anesthesiologists, House of Delegates (June 2012–present); Member, Committee on Practice Management, American Society of Anesthesiologists (Oct 2010–present); Member, Committee on Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesia, American Society of Anesthesiologists (Oct 2010–present); Member, Board of Trustees, Washington State Medical Association (Sept 2011–present); Director, Washington State Society of Anesthesiologists (2009–present); Insured by Physicians Insurance since 2007
Committee: Risk Management/Education

John Pasqualetto

California State University, Northridge, BA (1965)
Present Position: Retired
Past Positions: President, Chairman, and CEO, Seabright Holdings (SBX, a New York Stock Exchange publicly traded company); CEO and Chairman of SeaBright Insurance Company and Paladin Managed Care Services and Chairman of PointSure Insurance Services (all subsidiaries of SBX); Senior Vice President, Kemper Insurance Companies; President, CEO, and Director of Eagle Insurance Group; Co-Founder, President, CEO, and Director of Great States Insurance Company
Professional Societies/Affiliations: Chairman of California Workers’ Compensation Institute; Board Member of the Integrated Benefits Institute; Board Member of NCCI Holding and Chair of its Audit Committee

Reelected to new three-year terms of office were the following incumbent Directors:

Sheila Rege, MD

University of California, Berkeley, BS (1985)
University of California, Los Angeles, School of Medicine, MD (1989)
University of California, Los Angeles, Residency in General Surgery (1991), Nuclear Medicine (1993), and Radiation Oncology (1997)
Board Certified: Radiation Oncology
Present Position: Radiation Oncologist, Northwest Cancer Clinic
Practice Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Professional Appointments: AMA Alternate Delegate (2008-present), Chair of BFCMS Technology/IT Committee (2007–2008), Center for Health Care Reform Advisory Board, WA Policy Center (2006–present), Member of ASTRO Government Relations Congressional Relations Subcommittee (2005–present), Board Member, American College of Radiation Oncology
Insured by Physicians Insurance since 1997
Committees: Underwriting/Sales/Marketing and Internal Nominating
Incumbent; first elected in 2010

Ralph Rossi, MD

Yale College, BA (1984)
University of California, San Diego, MD (1991)
University of Washington, Residency in Internal Medicine (1991–1994)
University of Washington, MPH (1997)
Board Certified: Internal Medicine
Present Position: Practicing physician; Immediate Past President, Chair, Finance and Operations Committee, and member, Strategic Planning Committee at The Polyclinic
Practice Location: Seattle, Washington
Committees: Executive, Finance & Audit, Investment, and Compensation
Incumbent; first elected in 2010